Toggle menu M e n u

You are here

Research Faculty Awards

Past Research Faculty Award Recipients

View a list of past recipients for the Research Faculty Award.

The U-M Office of Research has established three awards to recognize excellence among research faculty.

Collegiate Research Professorship

  • Designed to recognize exceptional scholarly achievement and impact on advancing knowledge in science, engineering, health, education, the arts, the humanities or other academic field of study. The Collegiate Research Professorship is a named award and carries an annual stipend of $2,000 for the initial five-year term.

Research Faculty Achievement Award

  • Designed to recognize outstanding scholarly achievements, as represented by significant contributions to an academic field of study over time, a specific outstanding discovery, or the development of innovative technology or practice.

Research Faculty Recognition Award

  • Designed to recognize exceptional scholarly achievements, as evidenced by publications and/or other scholarly activities in any academic field of study.

Awardees will have prominently displayed announcements and profiles of their careers and work in a fall issue of the University Record. The awards are conferred at the annual Faculty Awards Ceremony and dinner hosted by the President each fall.

The Research Faculty Awards Advisory Committee will evaluate nominations and recommend winners to the Vice President for Research.

To nominate an individual for one of these awards, read the guidelines, submit the online nomination form located on the guidelines page for each individual award.

For more information about the Research Faculty Awards, please contact Wendi Mohl in the U-M Office of Research (


On October 19, 2020, the campus community virtually honored three University of Michigan faculty members for their outstanding research service.